Mission and Board

The Thompson Divide Coalition Mission

The mission of the Thompson Divide Coalition is to secure permanent protection from oil and gas development of Federal lands in the Thompson Divide Area including the Thompson Creek and Four Mile Creek watersheds, as well as portions of the Muddy Basin, Coal Basin, and the headwaters of East Divide Creek.

To achieve this goal the Thompson Divide Coalition is seeking federal legislation to permanently withdraw the area from availability for future leasing. The coalition is also working with current leaseholders to retire existing leases.

The Thompson Divide Coalition exists because of outstanding community support from the Roaring Fork Valley, and beyond.  Our communities on the Western Slope include Aspen, Basalt, El Jebel, Carbondale, Redstone, Marble, Glenwood Springs, New Castle, Silt, Rifle, Battlement Mesa, Paonia, Delta, Crested Butte, Gunnison and Grand Junction.

The Thompson Divide Coalition is also comprised of a twelve member board, consisting of ranchers, community leaders, small business owners, and farmers with connections to the Thompson Divide area.


Board of Directors

Zane Kessler, Executive Director

Jason Sewell, President
Sunfire Ranch

Clare Bastable, Vice President

Judy Fox-Perry, Secretary
Water Gap Ranch

Ian Carney, Treasurer

Two Shoes Ranch

Dorothea Farris


Sue Anschutz-Rodgers

Crystal River Ranch

Jock Jacober
Crystal River Meats

Chuck Ogilby

Avalanche Ranch

Brook LeVan

Sustainable Settings

Fred Lodge